Coming strictly from the perspective of a Shadow Priest…. no!  Let me elaborate…

Primary Rotation

As it is right now, the spells I use often are Vampiric Touch, Shadow Word: Pain, Mind Blast, and Mind Flay, with Shadow Word: Death thrown in below 20%, Halo only used once every 40 seconds, and Shadowfiend every 3 minutes (plus Power Infusion, which is tied into a macro).

That’s essentially 7 abilities in my main rotation during a boss fight.  Sometimes I will throw in Mind Sear for some AoE if there are a lot of adds.

All The Other Spells

Now, what about everything else? Let me break it down, as I see the abilities best categorized…

CC and/or PVP: Shackle Undead, Void Tendrils, Psychic Horror, Silence, Psychic Scream (5 abilities)

Healing/Support: Mass Dispel,  Dispel Magic, Hymn of Hope, Vampiric Embrace, Binding Heal, Power Word: Shield, Renew, Flash Heal, Prayer of Mending, Void Shift, Life Grip (it can have no other name!) and Symbiosis (Tranquility) if I have it. (11 – 12 abilities)

Other: Power Word: Fortitude, Inner Will, Inner Fire, Mind Vision, Resurrection, Fear Ward, Levitate, Dispersion, Fade, Spectral Guise (10 abilities)

Now, that might seem like a lot of abilities that I don’t count as part of my main rotation, but does that make them abilities I’d want to see disappear?  NO!  In a raid situation, I find myself using almost every single one of those abilities, and if they aren’t used during a raid I can almost guarantee they’re used when I’m soloing.

I have saved the tank multiple times with Void Swap; made dispelling raid members a no-brainer with Mass Dispel; pulled someone out of a deadly beam at the last second with Life Grip; and overall made many, many saves with the support abilities I have in my arsenal.  Do I use every single one of these abilities in every single fight?  Absolutely not.  But I use them plenty often, and when I do use them, they are almost always life-savers.  That’s what I love about being a hybrid class; I have all sorts of abilities at my disposal.  I don’t care how situational they are; in fact, that’s sort of the point!  They’re useful very situationally, but in those situations that they are useful, they’re irreplaceable.

Notable Exceptions

If you’re familiar with Shadow at all, you may have noticed I left out Mind Spike.  To me, if I had to pick something to be removed, this would be it.  As it stands, it does medium damage and wipes all my DOTs.  Without a glyph or talent, Mind Spike becomes almost entirely useless in raids (for me, anyways).  Sure, it has a few upsides – if you need to wipe your DOTs, it does that, and it also is cast-able if you’re shadow locked… if you don’t mind losing whatever DOTs you had up for the sake of getting a cast off – but other than the rarest of situations, it’s not very useful.  Again, this is specifically speaking for the build and glyph set I choose to use, but it’s still the first I’d choose to go.

Other than Mind Spike, Inner Will and Renew are the other two spells I find myself using very rarely.  That’s it.  The rest of my spells, I would never actively choose to get rid of.

A Small Digression

I must take a minute to point out one thing: I don’t think it would be nearly as easy to organize my spells and know what I’m doing without an action bar addon.  Sure, I could make the best of it, but I think that the amount of abilities we have requires a degree of flexibility with placement that the default UI doesn’t offer.  I organized the abilities very specifically in my post, and I do so in game.  I think a move-able UI and more bars are long overdue as part of the default package.

In Summation…

Sure, I have a lot of spells.  And sure, a large portion of those are situational.  But that’s part of the reason I chose a hybrid spec; I love having all these different support abilities at my disposal.  There are a very small number of abilities I’d get rid of if I had to, but other than maybe 3 I wouldn’t give away any of the spells I have right now in favor of less clutter.  I don’t need things simplified.  I like knowing when to use what, and how to get the most out of that usage.

